Moving On To The Dining Room

December 10, 2008 at 6:48 pm (Our New House) (, , , , , , , , , , , , )

We have also got the dining room pretty much set up (for now).  We do have many projects on the list, but Illinois winters don’t allow for too much outdoor work (sanding and painting).  Here is the mini tour of the dining room.  And, as always, suggestions and comments are always welcome and appreciated!

This is a little corner of the dining room. The door leads down to an old basement. This was a hand-me-down metal desk. We fell in love with it. We don't really use it as a desk, but more as a table and storage (the house has NO extra linen-type closets!). The little jar is a bag of HUGs! The paiting is one by my brother, which he gave me for my birthday this year. I love this little area.

This is a little corner of the dining room. The door leads down to an old basement. This was a hand-me-down metal desk. We fell in love with it. We don't really use it as a desk, but more as a table and storage (the house has NO extra linen-type closets!). The little jar is a bag of HUGs! The paiting is one by my brother, which he gave me for my birthday this year. I love this little area.

A close up of the painting by Ryan.

A close up of the painting by Ryan.

This is the corner of the dining room between the kitchen and the living room.  The antique table and antique lamp are from my grandmother.  The silver balls are modern and I think provide nice contast here.  The little primitive box was one that Tony made when he was in high school.  I think its adorable.  I added antique bottles.

This is the corner of the dining room between the kitchen and the living room. The antique table and antique lamp are from my grandmother. The silver balls are modern and I think provide nice contast here. The little primitive box was one that Tony made when he was in high school. I think its adorable. I added antique bottles.

 

 

A close up of Tony's little box and the apothecary bottles.

A close up of Tony's little box and the apothecary bottles.

This is the other side of the window. The plate rack obviously still needs to be hung.

This is the other side of the window. The plate rack obviously still needs to be hung.

This is our little red dining room table. The mismatched chairs are all painted black. if you can see the curtains here or in any other pictures, they, too, need to be replace. They are covered in fruit. Its on the project list!

This is our little red dining room table. The mismatched chairs are all painted black. if you can see the curtains here or in any other pictures, they, too, need to be replace. They are covered in fruit. Its on the project list!

This is the little wall space next to the window. I love this set up. I always love antique frames.

This is the little wall space next to the window. I love this set up. I always love antique frames.

This is the wall behind the dining table.  It is pretty bare for right now, but we are working on redoing a giant antique desk for this spot.  We got the desk at an auction for $5!  The candles and shelves will stay.

This is the wall behind the dining table. It is pretty bare for right now, but we are working on redoing a giant antique desk for this spot. We got the desk at an auction for $5! The candles and shelves will stay.

1 Comment

  1. daughterinlaw said,

    hello, my name is crystal, and i was researching a lamp that has been handed down to us, by my husband’s grandfather. i discovered you have the same lamp!
    the large one, in your pic with the brass base, and the round globe with painted flowers.
    any info would be great, thanks so much.
    i am in new brunswick, canada.
    vautour_2003@live.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 241 other followers

