New Old Shade

February 27, 2009 at 10:28 am (Projects) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

Its official. I am sick of our curtains. All of them. Every room. I knew they were bad from the day we moved in, but now I am at my breaking point. So, on my day off yesterday I did some work and started plunging into our curtain situation.

I thought I would start off small. There was no shade over the large window in our kitchen door. Our neighbors could see right in! I decided to take the old white roller shade from the dining room door (since it also has a curtain) and refinish it to go in the kitchen. I wanted to stick with the black and white theme. I used some swirly scrap-book stencils I had and a paint pen ($3 at Wal-Mart). I laid the stencils out where I liked them, traced, and colored in. Now, viola!

blog-pics-rollershade-001

blog-pics-rollershade-002

What a simple , inexpensive project with such great results! This weekend I plan to get some black material and sew a valance at the top, as well as simple black curtains to replace the strawberry ones in the kitchen window. Then on to the rest of the house…

P.S. Yes, there is a cute in the shade. The landlord has mis-cut part of the shade. I didn’t want to try out my new paint idea on a new shade and ruin it. We like it well enough that I will soon go through the time and effort to reproduce this on a new shade!

2 Comments

  1. 120 said,

    Home Decorating – Garden, Kitchen, Bedroom, Bathroom Decor…

  2. Mike said,

    Just passing by.Btw, your website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour

Leave a Reply

